Milestones….achieving them is F*cking Awesome!

The first milestone I made, was a very big one for me and has been the reason for many more to follow. Divorce.

Being a stay at home Mom for the past 16yrs, meant my life was spent raising my girls. I cooked, cleaned, nurtured etc. I did not have a job, did not pay the bills, did not do most of the things “Guys” usually do, like mow the lawn,go to work, chop wood, put oil/coolant in the car, take out garbage , re-fill propane tanks etc. I have successfully done all of those things this year, plus a few more.

And as of about 30min’s ago, I just filed my first tax return in over 17years!!! BY MYSELF!!! Holy shit!!! I am beyond excited as I was stressing pretty good on that one. I was also stressing on the deposit the power company required for me to open a new account, it was more than ridiculous and there was no possible way i could pay it. Yesterday my guardian angels were hard at work! Somehow, after calling the power company and explaining, they removed the required deposit!!!! The whole damn thing!!! I actually got a little teary on the phone with the woman trying to express my gratitude. Talk about enormous financial burden lifted!!!! So I figured since yesterday worked out so well, I’d go balls to the wall and tackle stress #2. Taxes.

NAILED IT!!! Thank you turbo tax!!!

So yes, I am completely aware that most people do all of this stuff and it’s no big deal. But it’s a big fucking deal to me! Each task I feared, each one I have conquered.I have proven to no one other than myself, that I can do it. Yes it’s still scary, but my journey is well on it’s way, and these little milestones I have achieved are making me stronger, and more confident.  And while I am horrible at accepting compliments, for just this once, I will give myself one…WAY TO GO JENN!!! YOU GOT THIS !!!!! YOU fucking rock right now!

I do believe I shall cook a lovely supper and raise a glass toasting all single Mum’s who have also been through this, and to those going through it, and to those like me who feared going through it so much that they stay stuck. You can do it! I did =)

I absolutely MUST acknowledge the amazing friends and family that I have. There are a few special ones who have helped me through some funky moments, thank you. You know who you are 😉

2 Responses to “Milestones….achieving them is F*cking Awesome!”

  1. It is a big deal. Congratulations! One step at a time learning the mundane everyday stuff…I’m sure that has to be the way to survive this. I’m still trying to figure out how and when I need to change the filter in the furnace. It hasn’t exploded yet, so I’m hoping I’m good.

  2. cheryl white Says:

    atta girl! You are Woman hear you Roar!

Leave a comment